Paracord Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to working with paracord and new to this forum. I've done some reading and thought I understood about to cut and singe the ends on a finished bracelet. Obviously I did not. My ends are pulling loose. What am I doing wrong? Anyone know of a good tutorial on this? Thanks!

·
2,201 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

You have to get the ends to the point where they become a little liquidity and then use the lighter to press the melted ends against the rest of the bracelet, etc.

·
Registered
122 Posts
If you mean that the last knot is actually coming loose, then you have several options. I prefer to tuck the ends back under the last two strands on the back of the bracelet using fids. It's more secure and looks better.

For projects that I want to make truly reversible, like key fobs, I have learned to leave the ends about 1/8" longer than what looks natural. It doesn't take long before bending and flexing will shorten them up, and then they'll be right. You can also use a metal object to flatten the ends right after you hear them up. I don't really care for the look of this either, in most cases.

Here's a pic of the back of a king cobra bracelet I just made:

ImageUploadedByParacord Forum1435092610.723470.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ready cords I like that bracelet. What is fids? I tuck my ends like that and then singe them and press them into the cord but the ends come loose.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Ready cords I like that bracelet. What is fids? I tuck my ends like that and then singe them and press them into the cord but the ends come loose.

Thanks! Fids are essential gear for great paracording! They are lacing needles that you can use to work cord under other strands, and then you can get things pulled really nice and tight. I think they will probably fix your problem. They are also great for weaving, on patterns like a fishtail or trilobite.